Prof. John P. Burrows elected Fellow of the Royal Society



Prof. John P. Burrows

Another prestigious honor is awarded to an outstanding scientist: On 29 April 2016, the Royal Society announced its newly elected Fellows and Foreign members, and Prof. John Philip Burrows of the Institute of Environmental Physics at the University of Bremen was one of them. He will be inducted to become FRS on the 15th July 2016 in London. This makes him the third citizen of Bremen to carry the title FRS following Henry Oldenburg (1666) and the famous astronomer Wilhelm Olbers, (1804). John Burrows has been resident in Bremen since 1992 and built his research team at the Institute of Environmental Physics / Institute of Remote Sensing within the Faculty of Physics and Electrical engineering of the University of Bremen, whose scientific contributions are also honoured by this award.

John Burrows is internationally recognized as one of the "fathers" of the first European satellite sensors which yield atmospheric composition from space. Working closely with DLR, ESA and NASA, he conceived and initiated the SCIAMACHY (Scanning Imaging Absorption SpectroMeter for Atmospheric CHartography) project, out of which the sensor GOME (Global Ozone Monitoring Experiment) was developed, and both were installed aboard the satellite ERS-2. These instruments were created for the investigation of global stratospheric and tropospheric composition. He has contributed to our scientific understanding of air pollution, the ozone layer, the upper atmosphere, biogeochemistry and climate change. He and his research team have studied the kinetics and spectroscopy of key atmospheric free radicals and gases, developed innovative in situ trace atmospheric measurement techniques, and pioneered the passive remote sensing of atmospheric constituents.

The Bremer physicist is a fellow of AAAS, AGU, IUGG, and NERC/CEH and member of IAA. His work has been merited internationally and has earned him several awards including the COSPAR William Nordberg Medal 2006, the NASA Group Achievement Award 2008, the JQSRT Milestone Paper Award 2010, the Haagen-Smit Prize 2012, the EGU Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal 2013, the IUGG Silver Medal IUGG 2015, and the Alfred Wegener Medal EGU 2016.

The Royal Society was founded in 1660 in London "to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity". The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from or living and working in the UK and the Commonwealth. Past Fellows and Foreign Members have included Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking, to name a few. Each year, the Fellows of the Royal Society elect up to 52 new Fellows and up to 10 new Foreign Members.

Further information:

Universität Bremen Institut für Umweltphysik Prof. John P. Burrows Tel.: 0421 218 62100,

E-Mail: <u>burrows@iup.physik.uni-bremen.de</u>

www.iup.uni-bremen.de

Mobil 0173 624 1781

https://royalsociety.org/news/2016/04/new-fellows-2016/